Kanda ya Mtwara

Mtwara Zone

Office Physical Address

Mtwara Zone is among the eight zones of the National Irrigation Commission (NIRC) namely: Mbeya, Morogoro, Kilimanjaro, Mtwara, Mwanza, Central, Tabora and Katavi. The National Irrigation Commission (NIRC) for Mtwara Zone is based in Mtwara. The Zone covers three regions of Mtwara, Lindi and Ruvuma.The office is located in Mtwara Municipal, RahaLeo Ward, Chikongola Street. The Zone is within the three Basins of Ruvuma and Southern Coast, Lake Nyasa Basin and Rufiji Basin. It can be reached through the following address,

NIRC – Mtwara Zone

P.O. Box 671




Telephone: 0232334109

Facsimile: 0232334109


(1) The Commission shall be responsible for coordination, promotional and regulatory

functions in the development of the irrigation sector.

(2) Without prejudice to the generality of subsection (1), the Commission shall;

(a) Advise the Government on implementation and review of the National Irrigation Policy, Strategy, National Irrigation Master Plan and related legislation;

(b) Represent the Government in the National and International fora and collaborate with both local and International firms or organizations in all matters pertaining to irrigation development and management;

(c) Coordinate all interventions in irrigation sector conducted by the development partners and other stakeholders;

(d) Promote and maintain cooperation in irrigation and drainage with similar bodies in other countries and with International bodies connected with irrigation and drainage;

(e) Advise the Minister on declaration of irrigation areas for the purposes of National Irrigation Act;

(f) Plan, carryout studies, design, construct, supervise and administer implementations of the irrigation projects;

(g) Establish and maintain irrigation construction equipment centres and provide hiring services to support private sector in the irrigation investment;

(h) Register and maintain a register of all Irrigators;

(i) Promote institutional linkages training programmes and support the recruitment of persons for purposes of employment in connection with the irrigation sector;

(j) Act as a forum for information sharing pertaining to irrigation and drainage matters;

(k) Build capacity of the irrigators for effective participation at all levels in irrigation planning, implementation, operation and management;

(l) Undertake and coordinate research, disseminate appropriate technologies emanating from the research findings and provide technical support services on irrigation;

(m) Promote development of multipurpose water storage facility for irrigation purposes and other social economic activities;

(n) Regulate all matters related to irrigation development and overseeing collaborations among different players in the development of irrigation and drainage;

(o) Approve construction of irrigation works, standards and guidelines for the development and management of irrigation and drainage;

(p) Promote efficient water use in irrigation systems and ensure compliance with the Integrated Water Resources Management approach in irrigation development;

(q) Advise the government in all matters relating to development and management of irrigation sector in the country; and

(r) Perform any other functions which are necessary fore effectively carrying out the purposes of National Irrigation Act;


Mtwara Zone covers three regions, namely Mtwara, Lindi and Ruvuma.

The regions with respective Districts are as follows:

1: Mtwara – Mtwara, Newala, Tandahimba, Masasi and Nanyumbu

2: Lindi – Lindi, Kilwa, Ruangwa, Nachingwea, and Liwale

3: Ruvuma: Songea, Mbinga, Nyasa, Namtumbo and Tunduru


Mtwara Zone borders Ruvuma River and Mozambique Country on the Southern part, Lake Nyasa and Malawi country on the Western Side, Morogoro Region and Njombe regions on the Northern part and Indian Ocean on the Eastern side.