Kanda ya Morogoro

Morogoro Zone

Office Address

The National Irrigation Commission (NIRC) office for the Morogoro Zone is based in Morogoro. It is located at Kihonda Bima Area in Morogoro Municipality Council.

The Office can be reached through the following addresses;

NIRC-Morogoro Zone

P.O. Box 515

Morogoro - Tanzania


Telephone: + 255-738 636305

Facsimile: +255-23 - 2604571


The Morogoro Zone started its operations in 1980, with the goal of bringing its services close to people. Zonal Irrigation Commission Offices established for the purpose of providing effective irrigation technical services to Local Government Authorities and stakeholders.

The Region Irrigation Commission’s Offices will perform the following functions:-

(i)Identify irrigation potential areas in collaboration with Local Government Authorities;

(ii)Prepare irrigation projects feasibility studies, detailed designs and tender documents;

(iii)Supervision of construction and rehabilitation of irrigation and drainage works;

(iv)Provide technical support to LGAs and the private sector in the development and management of irrigation schemes;

(v)Ensure dissemination and utilization of operation and maintenance manuals and other irrigation guidelines;

(vi)Assist LGAs in the formulation of farmers irrigation organizations;

(vii)Mainstream environmental and social safeguardsin irrigation and drainage plans and designs;

(viii)Undertake data collection for irrigation data bank;

(ix)Prepare plans for the utilization of groundwater and rain water resources for irrigation purposes;

(x)Ensure quality control of irrigation and drainage infrastructure;

(xi)Disseminate new construction innovations on irrigation and drainage infrastructure;

(xii)Undertaking of adaptive and applied research on various irrigation and drainage aspects;

(xiii)Promoteuse of water saving technologies, renewable energies and locally available materials for irrigation and drainage;

(xiv)Promote Integrated Water Resources Management (IWRM) in collaboration with Basin Water Boards regarding irrigation water use permits;

(xv)Liaise between the Commission Headquarters, Regional Administration and LGAs and the private sector on irrigation matter;

(xvi)Provide Finance and Accounts Services; and

(xvii)Provide logistics and procurement Services.


The Morogoro Zone Office in Morogoro Municipal Council covers three administrative regions namely Morogoro, Coast, and Dar es Salaam. The Regions with respective 19 Districts and 23 LGAs are as follow:

  1. Dar es Salaam Region 5 Districts: Kinondoni , Ubungo , Kigamboni, Temeke and Ilala
  2. MOROGORO Region 7 District: Gairo, Kilombero, Kilosa, Morogoro, Mvomero, Ulangaand Malinyi District
  3. COSTALRegion 7 District: Bagamoyo, Kibaha, Kisarawe, Mafia, Mkuranga , Kibiti and Rufiji District


  1. Dar es Salaam Region 5 LGA: Kinondoni MC, Ubungo MC, Kigamboni MC, Temeke MC, Ilala MC
  2. MOROGORO Region 9 LGA: Gairo DC, Kilombero DC, Ifakara TC, Kilosa DC, Morogoro DC, Morogoro MC, Mvomero DC, Ulanga DC, Malinyi DC
  3. COSTALRegion 9 LGA: Bagamoyo DC, Chalinze DC, Kibaha DC, Kibaha TC, Kisarawe DC, Mafia DC, Mkuranga DC, Kibiti Dc, Rufiji DC


Morogoro Zone on the South it borders with Lindi and Ruvuma regions; on the North is bordered with Tanga and Manyara; On the West borders Dodoma and Iringaregion; and on the East is the Indian Ocean.